Skip to content
Home » Operating Systems » Apple iOS » Apple announces App Store for 33 more countries

Apple announces App Store for 33 more countries

Apple are continuing the push for world domination of its App Store by conquering 33 new countries – raising the distribution of the applications market to 123 lands and counting..

The App Store started in 2008 and is a marketplace of mobile and personal computer software for gadgets running on Apple’s Mac OS and iOS platforms, such as iPhone and iPad. The title has been contested in US court in recent months, with Amazon raising Apple’s ire by using a version of the “famous” name.  The App Store reached 15-billion downloads and also upped the price of all its apps earlier this month.

The App Store will begin its expansion in coming days, and the full list of app-licants is as follows:
Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua, and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Iceland, Montserrat, Nigeria, Oman, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Uzbekistan, Yemen.

Apple’s latest operating system for desktop computers – Mac OS X Lion – became available through the App Store last week and reached 1-million downloads in just 24-hours.

Send us your thoughts via tweet to the Official Gadget Helpline Twitter or drop us a comment on our Official Facebook page!