Skip to content
Home » Operating Systems » Apple iOS » Apple Releases iOS 8.0.2 to Fix Bugs with iOS 8

Apple Releases iOS 8.0.2 to Fix Bugs with iOS 8

After releasing and quickly ‘pulled back’ a buggy version iOS 8 just a few days ago on September 24th Apple has now addressed the launch version issues by releasing iOS 8.0.2 which becomes available today.

The issues could not be resolved individually so Apple has decided to release a blanket fix for a list of problems iPhone users have been encountering since Wednesday which include network connectivity dropping out and Touch ID unresponsiveness, leaving owners locked out of their devices. Disappointing news for those who had just purchased their brand new iPhone 6 or iPhone 6 Plus.

Shortly after the iOS 8 bugs were reported Apple set up a dedicated help page on its support site addressing a temporary solution to these issues through iTunes but which would come at sacrifice of the new Apple HealthKit feature until a permanent fix was reached.

The full list of changes in iOS 8.0.2 according to an Apple statement is as follows:

  • Fixes an issue in iOS 8 that impacted cellular network connectivity and Touch ID on iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus.
  • Fixes a bug so HealthKit apps can now be made available on the App Store.
  • Addresses an issue where 3rd party keyboards could become deselected when a user enters their passcode.
  • Fixes an issue that prevented some apps from accessing photos from the Photo Library.
  • Improves the reliability of the Reachability feature on iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus.
  • Fixes an issued that could cause unexpected cellular data usage when receiving SMS/MMS messages.
  • Better support of Ask To Buy for Family Sharing for In-App Purchases.
  • Fixes an issued where ringtones were sometimes not restored from iCloud backups.
  • Fixes a bug that prevented uploading photos and videos from Safari.

The iOS 8.0.2 firmware update comes just in time for both new iPhones’ arrival in new global regions today building on the initial eight release territories.

The new regions to get the Apple iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.