Skip to content
Home » Site-Sections » Gadget News » Rock Band to Offer 3 New Downloadable Songs!

Rock Band to Offer 3 New Downloadable Songs!

  • by

Popular party game Rock Band will be offering 3 new tracks to jam along to from tomorrow (Tuesday 13th January).

The songs are the first new additions to the Rock Band playlist in almost 2 years, after the games makers cancelled any future DLC for PS3 and Xbox 360. Harmonix revealed via its company blog that the headline acts in what we hope will be a comeback tour for DLC will be the Arctic Monkeys in their first appearance in the Rock Band series providing the song R U Mine? with Avenged Sevenfold’s Shepherd of Fire also available and Foo Fighters’ Something For Nothing from last year’s superb return album Sonic Highways.

Each track will cost just 99p ($1.99 USD) to download from the Rock Band Music Store and will be playable in the original Rock Band, as well as Rock Band 2 and Rock Band 3 for both Xbox 360 and PS3 (however the PS3 versions will follow later on 21st January in Europe).

Despite this surprising change of tune from Harmonix in regards to new songs for the much beloved franchise there’s no commitment yet of this becoming a regular thing again. Rock Band fans were once able to enjoy an updated play-along experience on a weekly basis until the developer pulled the plug 21 months ago. With next gen consoles taking centre stage we think Harmonix and publisher EA might look to remind us how awesome this brand can be before moving forward onto Xbox One and PS4 within the coming months.

Also See: Iron Maiden Headphones Announced at CES